Mango-Avocado Salsa

DSC_0124

I never thought I liked mangos. Turns out, I’d never had a ripe one.

When I found three of them hiding out in my Bountiful Baskets co-op basket a few weeks ago, I was disappointed, wondering what I was going to do with this fruit that was hard to slice, hard to peel and tasted kind of like old perfume. So I threw the fruit into a bowl on the counter and forgot about them until a few days later, when I squeezed them gently and realized I probably should do something with them. 

 

They were still hard to slice. But they tasted like the tropics, like a vacation I didn’t realize I needed. I ate half of the first one before I even realized what I was doing.

After a bit of Google searching (and, um, a mango-banana smoothie), I found this recipe for Mango-Avocado Salsa on Nom Nom Paleo. While Michelle Tam used it with pan-seared salmon, I had trouble finding salmon that week, and discovered that this salsa goes wonderfully with chicken or as sort of a non-traditional salad with just about anything.

While the mango’s sweetness blends beautifully with the creamy avocado, the red onion adds crunch and the lime brightens the flavors. I added a touch of hot sauce, but you don’t have to. Just be sure to fully enjoy the awesomeness of mangos!

DSC_0127

Mango-Avocado Salsa

Adapted from Nom Nom Paleo

  • 2 cups diced ripe mango (about 2 mangos)
  • ½ cup finely diced red onion
  • 1 cup diced Hass avocado (1 medium avocado)
  • ¼ cup minced fresh cilantro
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • big pinch of kosher salt
  • ¼ teaspoon red pepper flakes or hot sauce
  • Juice from 1 lime

Here’s how you make it:

Grab two ripe mangos and dice them up. Put them in a bowl with all of the other ingredients, which have mostly also been diced. Season to taste with black pepper, salt, hot sauce and lime. Eat, and don’t share with the dog, no matter how much she begs.

Leave a Reply

