Homemade Larabars

IMG_4292

I go through Larabars like no one else I know. I have always been an energy bar aficionado — maybe not always, but when I became a reporter and needed to be able to grab a satisfying meal/snack that I could eat in my car, I latched onto them. The hardest part of my (highly unsuccessful) Whole30 and subsequent Paleo transition was probably giving up Luna Bars, Kind Bars and Clif Bars.

Luckily, I still had Larabars. As Larabars are just made of fruit, nuts, and sometimes a little chocolate, they are Paleo-friendly and technically Whole30-compliant if you avoid all of the peanut ones. Gluten, dairy, soy and (added) sugar-free all meant worry-free for me.

But do you know how expensive these things are? $1.79 each at my grocery store. So when I found this recipe on Chocolate-Covered Katie, I had to try it.

IMG_4291

My favorite Larabar is the Coconut Chocolate Chew variety, so I played with this recipe to make it closer to that one. I also had a two-pound bag of prunes from Costco and not very many dates, so I decided to use those to make the texture closer to what Katie must have had with her “very soft” dates.

Feel free to experiment with this recipe a little bit! So long as you have the right ratio of fruit to nuts, you can’t go too far wrong. Enjoy!

IMG_4288

Coconut Chocolate Chew Bars

Adapted from Chocolate-Covered Katie

1 cup dates
1/3 cup prunes
¾ cup almonds
¼ cup coconut
1 tsp vanilla
4 Tbsp cocoa powder
pinch salt

Blend all the ingredients using a food processor. Shape dough into bars, and feel free to refrigerate for a firmer texture. Wrap in plastic wrap and store for up to a week.

Leave a Reply

