Chocolate-Hazelnut Butter

IMG_4301

I have not been a very good Paleo person lately.

Normally, I try so hard to eat well. I try to avoid things that are actively bad for me (hydrogenated oils, etc.), and I try to eat things that have some nutritional merit, rather than just being something that tastes good that maybe my body will know what to do with.

But then August hit. Work suddenly exploded off the charts, upping my already-high stress factor by a multiple of 10. My boyfriend’s work exploded also, as we had this little number to deal with:

IMG_4168

For a time, this was the biggest, scariest fire in the country, and I could see it from my back door. It was terrifying. And for a while, my boyfriend was in the middle of it.

So I have not been the best of Paleo people. I needed some chocolate to get me through this mess. What I really needed was creamy, gooey, oozing chocolate with a touch of rich toasted nuts. What I needed was Nutella

But do you know what’s in Nutella? Mostly sugar. To be precise: SUGAR, PALM OIL, HAZELNUTS, COCOA, SKIM MILK, REDUCED MINERALS WHEY (MILK), LECITHIN AS EMULSIFIER (SOY), VANILLIN: AN ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR (copied and pasted from the Nutella website). Even though I was not going to make it through the month without chocolate, I was not willing to fall off the wagon quite that hard.

So I made my own. The first ingredient is hazelnuts; the second, chocolate. There is some honey in there, so it’s not Whole30 compliant, and it’s not actively healthy for you. But when you need a little treat to make your life worth living, it’s not as bad for you as the real stuff — and maybe making it will take your mind off your troubles for a bit.

IMG_4299

Chocolate-Hazelnut Butter

2 cups chopped hazelnuts
1 Tbsp honey
3 Tbsp cocoa powder
2 Tbsp coconut oil

Preheat the oven to 350. Toast hazelnuts on baking sheet or in glass baking pan for 10 mins. Remove, and let cool.

Process nuts in food processor until a smooth, creamy consistency. Add honey and cocoa powder; process until smooth. Melt coconut oil for 10 seconds in the microwave, then add, one tablespoon at a time, until well-blended.

Eat with a spoon, then store in a cool, dark place for up to a week.

 

 

 

One thought on “Chocolate-Hazelnut Butter

  1. Pingback: Honey-Cinnamon Walnut Butter (paleo, gluten-free) |

Leave a Reply

