Paleo Pecan Pie

DSC_0012

Welcome to ABB Thanksgiving! Here, you’ll find Thanksgiving recipes designed to help you enjoy the holiday without sacrificing some of your favorite traditional items. 

I love pecan pie. And I’m really not ashamed of it.

My first slice of pecan pie was almost two years ago at a barbecue joint in Dallas called Sammy’s. I had gone to Dallas to attend a wedding with my fiance (then boyfriend), and he was incredibly excited to introduce me to “real” Texas barbecue.

Sadly, while the brisket and pork and whatever else I ate was good, it didn’t compare to that pecan pie. I had no idea what it even was — my image of pecan pie had been nothing like the rich, super-sweet, almost caramel filling offset by a flaky pie crust and topped with perfectly toasted pecans that was set before me.

When we got home, I was determined to make it on my own. I planned to use my mother’s oil pie crust recipe and the pecans I’d schlepped home with me from Texas. But in the planning process, I discovered the secret to the pie’s perfection.

Corn syrup.

This stuff is bad news. Delicious, yes, but as Michael Pollan says, my great-grandmother probably would not have recognized it as food. And though I made the pie — which, by the way, was so good that a certain Texan’s eyes rolled back in his head — I was saddened that the whole thing seemed so sordid.

So when I saw this recipe on Paleo Girl Kitchen, I had to try it. The first time, I didn’t read the directions very well (nor follow them) and ended up with a horrible…thing.

The second time, though, I followed them to the letter and came up with a pecan pie bar that is a perfect substitute for the real thing. While I’m positive that one day I’ll make another pecan pie, until that day, these bars satisfy the craving.

Enjoy!

Pecan Pie
Write a review
Print
Ingredients
Crust
  • 1 ¾ cup blanched almond flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • ¼ teaspoon sea salt

Filling

  • 8 ounces pitted dates
  • 2 eggs
  • ¼ cup maple syrup
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup pecans, chopped
Instructions
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Add the almond flour, egg, coconut oil, arrowroot powder and sea salt to a food processor. Pulse it until the dough forms a ball.
  2. Press the dough into a 12-inch glass casserole dish. Bake for 15 minutes.
  3. Add the dates to the food processor and blend on high for 1 minute. Add the eggs, maple syrup and vanilla. Process on high until the filling is smooth.
  4. Pour the filling mixture over the partially cooked crust. Evenly sprinkle the pecans over the top. Bake at 350 for another 30 minutes. Allow the bars to cool before cutting.
2 thoughts on “Paleo Pecan Pie

    • It’s pretty remarkably close to the real thing! The crust is a little more like a shortbread than a pie crust, but that might be the only thing that tips people off.

Leave a Reply

