Brussels Sprout Chips (paleo, vegan, gluten-free)

DSC_0041

I hate throwing away perfectly good food. Usually, my vegetable ends get saved for stock or I feed them to the dog (who prefers sweet potatoes and carrots to parsnips and spinach). But there are only so many Brussels sprout trimmings I feel good about feeding her…and I eat a lot of Brussels Sprouts.

Again, Michelle Tam at Nom Nom Paleo comes to the rescue with a recipe for Brussels sprout chips. You know how if you grill or roast Brussels sprouts, the inside gets all tender while the outside gets caramelized and crispy? Imagine a plate full of just the crispy bits, and you’re heading in the right direction.

These are made with the outer leaves that you normally trim off sprouts. Because they’re a little tougher than the inside ones, they hold up better under the heat of the oven. A little salt, pepper, garlic powder and olive oil add to the flavor and crunch. I did pretty heavily edit the seasonings and fat type; this is not the recipe you’ll find in Michelle’s book, but that was the inspiration.

There is only one problem with these; you’re going to need to eat them in a pretty small window of time. I know, I know, heartbreaking. They won’t stay crispy in storage, at least, not that I’ve found. But as I managed to polish off half of the baking sheet as a mid-morning snack, eating all of these chips shouldn’t be a problem for you.

Brussels Sprout Chips
Ingredients
  • 2 cups Brussels sprouts leaves (from about 2 pounds sprouts)
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Place all ingredients in a one-gallon ziploc bag and seal, leaving in some air. Shake vigorously until leaves are fully coated with oil and seasonings.
  3. Line 1 large baking sheet with parchment paper or aluminum foil. Place leaves in a single layer on baking sheet. Bake for eight to ten minutes, until crispy and brown around the edges.
  4. Serve immediately.
7 thoughts on “Brussels Sprout Chips (paleo, vegan, gluten-free)

  1. I have recently become obsessed with brussel sprouts, I have pan roasted them with some EVOO, garlic and pancetta if I’m feeling fancy! And finishing with balsamic vinegar! I could eat them at any hour of any day.

    I have always wanted to make my own veggie chips, but they felt like a lot of work. Were these good for the amount of time they took?

    • That was my favorite part! Because I was using outer layers that I’d trimmed from sprouts I ate earlier that week (I think for the brussels sprouts slaw?), the prep literally took two minutes. Plus the eight minutes they took to bake…it definitely took longer to eat them than it took to make them 🙂

Leave a Reply

