What I Ate (gluten-free, vegetarian)

IMG_20140420_133347

Weekends are when I cook. The entire work week is pretty much as you’d expect, food-wise — salads, fruit, snack bars, eggs. The culinary masterpieces I whip up, the ones that involve lots of chopping, multiple cooking steps and things stuffed into other things, are definitely weekend projects.

But of course, my weekends are not always free. Between work events on weekends and other exciting opportunities (handgun classes and industry awards, for example), sometimes my cooking plans are shot.

However, everyone is busy, and so I figured there was some value in showing all of you how I eat on a normal day — what I eat when I don’t have time to make Snap Pea Salad with Miso Dressing or when I don’t have the energy to go to the grocery store.

The day portrayed here was completely focused on recovering from an exhausting week and weekend, both of which were filled with, um, not always healthy food. The number one priority this week was getting as many fruits, vegetables, and good fats into my body as possible.

Processed with VSCOcam

Breakfast: Super-sized Green Monster Smoothie

I followed this recipe from Angela Liddon at Oh She Glows, but added extra almond milk and greens to add some bulk. It was going to be a meal, after all. I also drank about 24 ounces of water in the car on the way to work. If I hadn’t had time to make the smoothie, I would have had a Larabar and a banana and then replaced the granola bar snack with an apple.

Processed with VSCOcam

Snack: Homemade PB&J Granola Bar

I had a noon meeting, so I scarfed down a homemade granola bar beforehand for a boost. I also drank more water in the car on my way to the meeting…not recommended if you are not positive your destination has a public restroom!

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Lunch: Salad from a local grocery store

I was in a rush and didn’t get a lunch break, so I ran to the local grocery store around 3 p.m. and piled all the veggies I could into a to-go container. I stay away from the meat and cheese at salad bars, load on fun veggies like beets and artichoke hearts, and dress with just oil and vinegar. I avoid the meat because of all of the nitrates and other preservatives…cheese I avoid because cheap cheese just doesn’t seem worth it. I know, I sound like a snob, but the cheese you find in salad bars is pretty tasteless.

Processed with VSCOcam

Snack: Trail Mix

Of course, I was still starving when I got home. A handful of cashews, a handful of dried cranberries, and a small handful of semi-sweet chocolate chips took the edge off until dinner. I could have used Enjoy Life chips here or skipped them in favor of pepitas, but I didn’t. So there’s soy and dairy and sugar in there. 

Processed with VSCOcamProcessed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Dinner: Eggs and avocado with mustard

Originally, I had big plans for some sort of beautiful frittata-like omelet packed with peppers, onion, greens, and a little cheese. Then I opened the fridge and discovered I had no greens, no cheese, no peppers, and only a lonely avocado sitting in my crisper drawer. Oh well. I halved the avocado, ate one half with mustard in the hole, and made an easy omelet with eggs, salt, pepper, and nutritional yeast.

(Shhhh…I did have part of a cookie afterward.)

See how easy this is? I felt great about what I ate, and I didn’t have to count any calories. All of this was gluten-free, mostly vegan with the exception of the eggs, and it was even almost paleo (the granola bar with the millet is not paleo). Not every day is like this, of course, but I feel like it could be.

What suggestions do you all have for eating healthy when you’re in a rush?

 

2 thoughts on “What I Ate (gluten-free, vegetarian)

    • Anna, I’m the same way! HUNGRY. MUST HAVE CARBS. My poison tends to be a giant turkey sandwich with mayo, swiss, and cranberry sauce 🙂

Leave a Reply

