Roasted Chickpeas (vegan, gluten-free)


DSC_0013

One of my favorite things about being a young person without kids is the ability to give up dinner if I want to. No one is going to be mad if I don’t make a full three-course meal; if I want to have popcorn for dinner, I’m not hurting anyone.

I was lucky enough to be able to eat roasted chickpeas for dinner last night. Yeah, I know, that doesn’t sound too appealing, but hear me out. These little legumes were tossed with olive oil, garam masala, cayenne and salt, turning an otherwise-ordinary vegetable into an incredibly poppable snack.

To be fair, I didn’t mean to eat these for dinner. I had big plans for an omelet or swiss chard with bacon, mushrooms and shallots (recipe coming soon). But once I started eating them, I just couldn’t stop. The chickpeas become incredibly crispy and satisfyingly crunchy, the perfect foil for the spice from the garam masala and cayenne. I’m definitely going to experiment with different spices the next time I make this recipe — salt and pepper, curry, cumin and chili, a little garlic, maybe truffle salt? Is that a thing?

Anyway, please go make these right now. I promise, it will make your hump day better.

Roasted Chickpeas
Ingredients
  • 2 15 ounce cans chickpeas
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon garam masala
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
Instructions
  1. Drain and rinse the chickpeas. Roll them up in a few dish towels to dry. If you like, you can lightly bake them on very low heat in the oven for five to ten minutes to take out the dampness and make them even crispier.
  2. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place dried chickpeas in a large bowl. Sprinkle on garam masala, cayenne and salt, and drizzle with olive oil. Toss to combine, ensuring all of the chickpeas are coated.
  3. Pour the chickpeas on a baking sheet and roast for 40 minutes. Carefully shake the tray a few times between cooking.
  4. Serve immediately. They will last a day stored at room temperature, but they will slowly lose their crunch.
2 thoughts on “Roasted Chickpeas (vegan, gluten-free)

    • Making sure they are dry as can be before the roasting! Roll them up in dishtowels and let them sit for an hour…or dry them in the oven for about 15 mins on the lowest setting. If they are not dry, they steam, not roast, and that results in the eraser texture. 🙂

Leave a Reply

