Greek Zoodle Salad (paleo, vegan, gluten-free)

greek zucchini salad paleo vegan gluten-free

It’s not a secret that men and women can have very different tastes when it comes to food. A co-worker of mine and I were recently talking about food one eats when one’s significant other is away — not things like cereal and peanut butter and jelly on Ritz crackers, but all of the things our guys don’t like.

Don’t get me wrong; I am not the 300 Sandwiches lady. I cook what I want. But if I want to feed my significant other something he actually enjoys, it cannot involve pesto and should avoid peas, except in rare circumstances when the peas are pureed and served with cheese, as in this recipe. Dishes made up entirely of vegetables, as a general rule, are not favorites.

This Greek “pasta” salad was not a meal I expected him to like.

For one thing, the “pasta” is made up of zucchini; for another, half the fun of Greek salads is the sheer tonnage of feta cheese that’s involved. And while I love feta, I was trying to keep this recipe vegan as well as Paleo. So I just threw in some balsamic vinegar, some salt and pepper, a good amount of parsley, and what would turn into the key ingredient — a mix of black and green Greek olives.

Oh man. We ate so much of this salad that I didn’t have any to pack for my lunch this week. The zoodles were a perfect foil for the salty olives, and the tomatoes and herbs made this entire salad taste fresh, like the essence of summer. He’s already requested I make it again, which is a pretty big deal in our house.

So, even though this is an entire bowl of vegetables and you might think it seems more like girl food than anything else, give it a shot. While the recipe itself is vegan, you might want to add some feta or serve it alongside chicken for a primal or Paleo meal.

Greek Zoodle Salad 
Ingredients
  • 4 zucchini, julienned
  • 1 pint cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • 6 ounces Greek olives, quartered
  • 1 Tbsp minced shallots
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 cup parsley, minced
  • 1 tsp ground oregano
  • salt and pepper to taste
Instructions
  1. Easy, peasy — Throw everything in a large bowl. Combine thoroughly. Best served immediately, but can be stored in the fridge overnight.
3 thoughts on “Greek Zoodle Salad (paleo, vegan, gluten-free)

    • I totally forgot about your love of Greek things! You’d love this, then 🙂 I would definitely add feta and/or chicken, if I were you! Then it’s a whole meal for sure.

  1. Pingback: Greek Summer Salad – Almond Butter Binge

Leave a Reply

