Friday Favorites

paleo gluten-free strawberry shortcake

I promise, I have been cooking — even though it’s unbearably hot and even the thought of turning on the oven has become unthinkable. But I won’t post recipes unless I adapt them in some way, and what I have been cooking lately has been so perfect that I can’t change enough to make them worth posting on my own blog. Maybe in the future they’ll lead to inspiration, but this week, I’ve just been reaping the benefits of others’ ingenuity. It’s been awesome, and I want you to be able to enjoy it, too.

So here’s what I’ve been making:

  • Pinch of Yum‘s Healthy Baked Pesto Rigatoni. I loved how this pesto incorporated both kale and spinach, creating a rich pesto that was packed with nutritional value. Because of that, I convinced myself that this was basically a baked salad. I also used gluten-free quinoa noodles, but this would have been even better with spaghetti squash or maybe some zucchini noodles.
  • Edible Perspective‘s Lemon Cheesecake Mousse with Berries. I ate this for breakfast more times this week than I would like to admit. I may have used a little too much lemon, but it was incredible, very zingy and fresh. Love that it was vegan, but totally felt like I was eating cheesecake. 
  • Food52‘s Lemon-Dill Orzo Pasta Salad with Cucumbers, Olives and Feta. Love recipes with explanatory titles — reminds me of one of my favorite British idioms, “does what it says on the tin.” The lemon-dill dressing on this was fantastic, not too dilly, and the olives and feta added just the right amount of salt and a little bitter. I used quinoa instead of orzo to make this gluten-free, and ate this on the side of sausage and some grilled veggies for dinner. Mixed the leftovers with kale for lunch the next day (because we know how I love kale and quinoa salads). 
  • Coffee and Quinoa‘s Blue Cheese Polenta with Rosemary Blistered Tomatoes. Um, yum. I made the tomatoes in a toaster oven, which worked out perfectly. Served the leftover polenta topped with sauteed kale, bacon, onions and some balsamic the next day, and it was incredible. Since I’m not generally a fan of warm tomatoes unless they’re in a sauce, I sort of liked the kale version better, but the idea of basically making cheese grits with blue cheese is genius. 
  • I also adapted the shortcake recipe from Paleo Comfort Foods to include mixed berries and coconut milk, shown above. Not worth posting, but it was a fun experiment.

Next week, I’ll have more ice cream and a beet salad for ya…plus a surprise. But for now, tell me, what have you been cooking this week? 

Leave a Reply

