Summer Corn Salad (meatless, gluten-free, vegan option)

DSC_0022

It’s summertime. We all know that all you want to eat is a giant bowl of vegetables, and those vegetables better not have touched a heat source at any point (apart from maybe a grill). They should be in season, full of flavor and taste basically like sunshine.

In other words, the standards are high. Luckily, I have just the salad for you.

Are you ready for a confession?

This was not going to be a blog post. Originally, this was something I just made with leftovers from the fridge. I had tomatoes. I had a microwaved ear of corn, half an avocado and basil. And, best of all, I had a brand-new ball of smoked mozzarella that I picked up for another recipe that I was suddenly to hot and tired to make.

DSC_0017

So. I made a salad and I ate it for dinner and it was awesome. So awesome, in fact, that I knew I needed to share.

You can easily make this vegan by omitting the cheese, but I felt like I needed a little fat in my day and I’m obsessed with smoked mozzarella. If you’re not as enthused, feel free to use fresh mozzarella or the cheese of your choice — feta would be nice.

I did add a little bit of arugula the second time I made it, which greatly helped with the fact that my second batch of corn was not as tasty as the first. If you have good, sweet corn, feel free to leave out the arugula and let that corn shine.

[yumprint-recipe id=’106′] 

One thought on “Summer Corn Salad (meatless, gluten-free, vegan option)

Leave a Reply

