Broiled Fig and Prosciutto Salad

fig salad with proscuitto and mozzarella 1

Hi, my name is Kate, and I have a problem. I buy produce that I have no idea how to use.

We’ve all done this, right? Something will look irresistible — a purple bell pepper, for example, or an Asian pear — and you take it home, only to have it sit on your counter and rot while you rack your brain trying to think of something to do with this wonderful specimen.

I have done this too many times with figs to count. I don’t love the texture when I just eat fresh ones plain, so I needed to come up with some way to capture the lusciousness of the pint of black figs I brought home from the grocery store. This salad was the answer.

fig salad with proscuitto and mozzarella 3

Baking the figs softens them and brings out an almost caramel flavor that’s offset beautifully by the soft, creamy mozzarella cheese. You can also use goat cheese if you like, but I wanted a milder flavor that wouldn’t compete with the figs for attention. The crunchy baked proscuitto and honey-balsamic drizzle play off of both ingredients, contributing salt and even more sweetness with a little acid tang to keep the figs from being too cloying.

In short, this salad is the best freaking way to start the week that I could come up with. Sadly, it only used half of my pint of figs, so I’m still trying to solve my problem. Then again, maybe I’ll just make this salad over and over and over again…hardly a sacrifice.

Broiled Fig and Prosciutto Salad
 
Author: Kate Wutz
Prep time: 5 mins
Cook time: 15 mins
Total time: 20 mins
Serves: 2
A beautiful salad perfect for mid-summer that combines salty prosciutto with the sweetness of figs and the creamy richness of fresh mozzarella.
Ingredients
  • 6 figs, peeled and quartered
  • 3 slices prosciutto
  • 1 Tbsp honey (I used raw and unfiltered, but you do you)
  • 1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 4 cups spinach
  • 1 cup arugula
  • 4 ounces fresh mozzarella, torn into small pieces
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Place figs, seed side up, in the center of a baking pan lined with foil or parchment paper. Surround with prosciutto slices.
  3. Bake for 15 minutes, or until figs are soft and brown and the prosciutto is turning crispy. Remove prosciutto to a wire rack to cool; set figs aside. When cool, crumble the prosciutto.
  4. Meanwhile, whisk together honey and balsamic until completely combined. You should end up with a sweet, tart mixture that is thicker than normal dressing. Set aside.
  5. Divide spinach and arugula onto two plates. Top with figs, crumbled prosciutto, and mozzarella, again divided onto two plates. Drizzle both salads with the honey-balsamic; serve immediately.
 

 

Leave a Reply

