Last Taste of Summer Smoothie

vegan soy-free dairy-free gluten-free summer smoothie

Guys, summer is almost over. Even though it was 83 degrees the other day and I was sweating my butt off in a sweater at work, there’s this certain…feeling in the air.

A friend posted on Twitter recently that she had her first pumpkin spice latte of the season, so I guess that feeling’s not off base. Winter is coming, folks, and pretty soon all I’ll be posting are soups and stews and some kind of pasta and all that warm, cozy stuff that makes you almost glad it’s below zero outside.

But until then, I’m going to continue posting smoothies while I still can.

I’d had this amazing pineapple that I’d bought fresh about a month ago in my freezer, and I was dying to use it and a nectarine I had frozen just at the peak of its ripeness. With some homemade almond milk, a little coconut milk, and my staple frozen banana, I was ready to go.

And you know what? Because it’s not exactly July, I threw in a little warming ginger. You know, just to get those tastebuds ready for the spice-laden pumpkin goods that are heading my way.

This is a great recipe to use your homemade almond milk in! If you don’t have almond milk or are allergic to nuts, feel free to use orange juice instead.

Last Taste of Summer Smoothie
 
Author: Kate Wutz
Use frozen fruit from earlier this summer to give this smoothie a just-picked taste, or make do with store bought — either way, this vegan smoothie will bring some sunshine into your life.
Ingredients
  • 1 cup of coconut water (or the liquid from the bottom of a separated can of coconut milk)
  • 1/2 cup of almond or other non-dairy milk
  • 1 nectarine, sliced
  • 1 banana, frozen
  • 1/2 cup pineapple chunks
  • 1 Tbsp freshly grated ginger
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp chia seeds
  • Add all ingredients to blender, in the order noted here. Blend until smooth and thick. Drink immediately; soak in that summer feeling for just a little bit longer.
Instructions
 
 

 

Leave a Reply

