Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

gluten free chocolate chip oatmeal cookie 2

Welcome to Comfort Food Week! This week, I have three recipes designed to make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside, even though it might be cold and sad and disgusting outside. Part one is here; part two is here

Did you ever have one of those days where you have no idea what you want? I had a very scattered day this weekend when I couldn’t decide what kind of cookies I wanted to make. I wanted Snickerdoodles, but also chocolate chip, wait, maybe oatmeal β€” wait, I didn’t want any cookies, because if I had any cookies in my house, I was going to eat every single one of them by myself. And then probably explode.

gluten free chocolate chip oatmeal cookie 3

So I compromised. I took my best, most decadent chocolate chip cookie recipe, subbed in gluten-free baking flour, halved the sugar and replaced part of it with maple syrup, added oatmeal (for fiber, I guess) and used a little of the almond flour I had lying around.

I don’t pretend that this process made sense, only that it resulted in a delicious cookie. Crispy from the maple syrup but moist from the almond flour, these little babies will make you so happy that I was so indecisive. Plus, I mean, how guilty can you feel? There’s oatmeal in there.

gluten free chocolate chip oatmeal cookie 1

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies
 
Author: Kate Wutz
Serves: 16 cookies
Ingredients
  • 2 sticks butter, softened
  • 1 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups gluten-free flour
  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup gluten-free rolled oats
  • 12 ounces chocolate chips
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Beat butter, sugar and syrup in a stand mixer until thoroughly combined and creamy. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.
  3. Gently stir in flours, salt, baking powder and baking soda until combined. Fold in oats and chocolate chips.
  4. Scoop dough onto baking sheets with a 1/4 cup (or 2 ounce) scoop or measuring cup. Bake for 18 minutes, or until perfectly golden brown but not cracked on the top. Remove from oven; allow to cool on pan for two minutes. Remove from pan VERY CAREFULLY and transfer to wire rack. Allow to cool completely before storing.
 

 

 

One thought on “Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: Kitchen Essentials: Stand Mixer – Almond Butter Binge

Leave a Reply

