Maple-Pecan Overnight Oats


vegan gluten free maple pecan overnight oats 1 

Once upon a time, I didn’t eat breakfast. When I did, I ate a banana and yogurt, or yogurt and peanut butter, something I could grab on my way out the door with a minimum of fuss.

But then I realized that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and skipping it in favor of another cup of coffee is probably my ticket to an ulcer. But what do you really feel like eating at 8 a.m. in between answering emails? Something healthy, something that’s not going to send my blood sugar too high, and something I can eat with a spoon. No messy powdered sugar donut fingers are coming anywhere near my keyboard. And it has to be something that takes next to no time to grab in the morning.

vegan gluten free maple pecan overnight oats 2

Hence, overnight oatmeal. It takes five minutes the night before to mash a banana, pour in milk and oats, add nuts and a little maple syrup and stir. And the next morning, you have a delicious and nutritious breakfast that you can literally grab from the fridge as you are running out the door. It’s so easy, I make one for my husband, too. (Both saying that and actually doing it makes me feel like one of those 1950’s housewives, but it makes him happy, so…I do it.)

The best part? Gluten-free with no refined sugar. You can even skip the maple syrup if you want to, as the banana makes the oatmeal pretty sweet on its own. Play with the mix-ins, too! Nuts are just the easiest for us, but this would be great with dried fruit, chia seeds or peanut butter.

Vegan Overnight Oats
 
Author: Kate Wutz
Maple-pecan overnight oats that are vegan and gluten-free with no refined sugar. Take ten minutes to make these the night before, and you can grab and go in the morning. Perfect.
Ingredients
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup oatmeal (use more like 2/3 if you like your oatmeal thicker)
  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 2 Tbsp pecans, coarsely chopped
  • 1 Tbsp maple syrup (optional)
Instructions
  1. Stir together milk, oatmeal and banana in a mason jar until combined. I like to actually mash the banana in the mason jar first with a fork, add the milk using the measurement marks on the jar, then add the oats. Saves time and dishes.
  2. Add pecans on top, then top with maple syrup. Cover and keep in fridge overnight. Serve cold the next morning.
 

 

Leave a Reply

