Flourless Chocolate Cake

DSC_0033
I had this photo on my phone of a flourless chocolate cake that was haunting me. I knew I’d made it sometime last spring, shortly after the huge annual fundraiser at my last job. But I could not find the recipe for the life of me.

The picture wasn’t even good — the color was off, and it was blurry because I had just gotten my phone and was still figuring out how to work the camera. The cake itself looked great, though, rich and dark and maybe just a little gooey. The only problem was that I had no idea where I had gotten the recipe.

A search ensued. Was it Deb Perelman’s miniature flourless chocolate cake? Nope. This was a full-sized cake. Was it the “Almost Flourless Cake” on Food52? Nope. This was flourless. No flour. N-O.

I only accidentally solved this mystery, and I am so happy I finally did. The recipe — helpfully flagged, no less — revealed itself as I flipped through my Gourmet cookbook looking for a salad recipe the other day. I immediately headed to the store, bought chocolate chips, and ran home to make it.

DSC_0035

Oh man. You guys. If you are gluten-free (heck, even if you’re not, whatever), this needs to become your go-to cake. It’s elegant, with its little powdered sugar decoration, but not pretentious. It will have cracks and parts that sink and imperfections, and part of it will probably stick to your springform pan. Whatever. All that matters is what’s inside, that incredible rich dark double-chocolate extravaganza just waiting to be topped with vanilla ice cream and berries.

Best of all, it comes together in one bowl. With a spatula and a whisk. You can have this in the oven within 15 minutes of taking the butter out of the fridge. What are you waiting for?

Flourless Chocolate Cake
An easy flourless chocolate cake that is going to become you new go-to.
Ingredients
  • 8 ounces extra dark chocolate chips
  • 1⁄2 lb unsalted butter
  • 1 1⁄2 cups sugar
  • 6 large eggs
  • 1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • Powdered sugar for dusting
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter a 10-inch springform pan.
  2. Melt chocolate and butter in a large metal bowl set over a saucepan of simmering water. Stir until smooth, then remove from heat and whisk in sugar. Add eggs ONE AT A TIME, carefully, whisking very well after each addition. Add cocoa powder and whisk until just combined.
  3. Pour batter into prepared pan. Bake until top has formed a thin, crackly crust and a wooden pick inserted in center of cake comes out with moist crumbs, 35-45 minutes.
  4. Cool cake in pan on a rack for 10 minutes, then carefully remove the side of the pan, invert cake onto plate, and reinvert onto a rack and allow to cool completely. Dust with powdered sugar and serve with berries.

 

2 thoughts on “Flourless Chocolate Cake

Leave a Reply

